Minister for Regional Development
Minister for Local Government

Member of the Executive Council

Contact details

Phone  08 8226 1300

Fax 08 8226 0316

Email Contact the Minister

Postal Address
GPO Box 2557

Level 17
25 Grenfell Street


Geoff grew up in regional South Australia completing his education in Port Pirie.

His talent for managing people was first recognised by BP Australia who employed him to manage their largest territory in Australia. Later he became a successful business owner with BP.

Geoff then joined Port Pirie’s Nyrstar Smelter where he held various positions over 30 years. While working at the smelter Geoff was elected to local government in 1989 as a Councillor with the Port Pirie Regional Council. He was elected Mayor in May 2003 serving for almost six years before entering politics in 2009.

Geoff has served on several Parliamentary Committees , including the Select Committee reviewing The Retirement Village Act, the Natural Resource Committee and Chairperson for the Select Grain Committee. He also participated in the River Murray Management Plan.

Geoff was first elected as the Member for Frome in the SA House of Assembly as an Independent in 2009. When re-elected in 2010, Geoff was offered the position of Speaker which he respectfully declined.

Geoff was elected for a third time in the March 2014 State Election and was appointed as the Minister for Regional Development and Minister for Local Government Relations.

Geoff lives in regional South Australia and is passionate about the issues facing the State’s rural areas. He is a keen gardener and a proud family man.